Skip to content

The history of Ateliers Brugier

creation of the Brugier 1920 workshops

The Brugier workshops, specialized in all areas of lacquer, were founded in 1920 by André Brugier.
In 1987, his daughter Nicole Brugier took over responsibility for the Workshops, then in 2009, his son François Judet took over. It is therefore now the third generation of the family to manage the Workshops.
Since then, the Ateliers have been located in Paris, in a pretty courtyard in the seventh arrondissement. Our activity is organized around three distinct and complementary professions: lacquerer, restorer and antique dealer.

Three trades

Japanese screen with pine decoration on a gold background. Eighteenth century
Japanese screen with pine decoration on a gold background. Eighteenth century

Our antique dealer activity is based, in addition to our knowledge and documentation, on an important collection of Asian lacquers, acquired over time, such as cabinets, chests and screens, mainly the Coromandel lacquer screens. We continue to regularly enrich this collection.
The prestigious restorations of lacquer furniture for the Louvre Museum, for the National Museum of Asian Arts Guimet and for the Palace of Versailles have helped us considerably to strengthen our reputation for excellence and expertise.

84th century polychrome temple table H. 147-62-XNUMX

Among these pieces, we can cite the Louis XV chest of drawers, made by the famous cabinetmaker Gaudreaus, for his château de Choisy in 1744. The old panels provide invaluable documents for the restoration. They can also be used to design luxury furniture on demand (coffee tables, consoles, cabinets, etc.). We have also worked with contemporary artists and designers to create unique pieces.
Our knowledge and expertise in lacquering have led famous decorators to order decorative elements and wall panels from us.
This material reveals its extraordinary depth and preciousness.
Our companions are constantly looking for new textures, colors and decorative effects likely to emerge from new ideas.

CONTACT US

74, rue de Sèvres 75007 Paris FRANCE

 +33 (0)1 47 34 83 27

création des ateliers Brugier 1920

Les Ateliers Brugier, spécialisés dans tous les domaines de la laque ont été fondés en 1920 par André Brugier.
En 1987, sa fille Nicole Brugier prend la responsabilité des Ateliers puis en 2009, son fils François Judet prend la suite. C’est donc maintenant la troisième génération de la famille à gérer les Ateliers.
Depuis l’époque, les Ateliers sont installés à Paris, dans une jolie cour du septième arrondissement. Notre activité s’organise autour de trois métiers distincts et complémentaires : laqueur, restaurateur et antiquaire.

Paravent japonais à décor de pin sur fond or. XVIIIe siècle
Paravent japonais à décor de pin sur fond or. XVIIIe siècle

Notre activité d’antiquaire est fondée, outre nos connaissances et documentations, sur une importante collection de laques asiatiques, acquise au fil du temps, comme des cabinets, des coffres et des paravents, principalement les paravents en laque de Coromandel. Nous continuons d’enrichir régulièrement cette collection.
Les prestigieuses restaurations des meubles en laque pour le Musée du Louvre, pour le Musée national des arts asiatiques Guimet et pour le Château de Versailles nous ont considérablement aidés à renforcer notre réputation d’excellence et d’expertise.

Parmi ces pièces, nous pouvons citer la commode de Louis XV, fabriquée par le fameux ébéniste Gaudreaus, pour son château de Choisy en 1744. Les panneaux  anciens fournissent d’inestimables documents pour la restauration. Ils peuvent aussi être utilisés pour concevoir à la demande de luxueux meubles (tables basses, consoles, cabinets…). Nous avons également travaillé avec des artistes et des designers contemporains pour créer des pièces uniques.
Notre connaissance et notre expertise du laquage ont conduit de célèbres décorateurs à nous commander des éléments de décoration et des panneaux muraux.
Cette matière révèle ses extraordinaires profondeur et préciosité.
Nos compagnons recherchent constamment de nouvelles textures, couleurs et effets décoratifs susceptibles de faire émerger de nouvelles idées.

Table de temple polychrome XVIIIe siecle H.84-147-62
Table de temple polychrome H.84-147-62